T Levels

The next level qualification

Designed with employers and businesses in mind

Download Employer T-levels brochure

T Levels are new courses coming in September 2020 equivalent to 3 A Levels. (This means pupils who entered year 10 in September 2018 will be the first to be able to study them). 

These 2-year courses have been developed in collaboration with employers and businesses so that the content meets the needs of industry and prepares students for work.

T Levels will offer students a mixture of classroom learning and ‘on-the-job’ experience. T-level students will be required to complete a work placement of 45-60 days in length, covering a minimum of 315 hours.

T Levels will provide the knowledge and experience needed to open the door into skilled employment, further study or a higher apprenticeship

T Levels will become one of the main choices for students after GCSE’s alongside

  • Apprenticeships for students who wish to learn an occupation ‘on the job’
  • A levels for students who wish to continue academic education

T Levels will be based on the same standards as apprenticeships, designed by employers and approved by the Institute for Apprenticeships (IfA). The total time for a T Level will be around 1,800 hours over 2 years, including the industry placement. This is a significant increase on most current technical education courses. This differs from an apprenticeship, which are typically 80% on-the-job and 20% in the classroom

T Level courses will include the following compulsory elements

A technical qualification, which will include

  • core theory, concepts and skills for an industry area
  • specialist skills and knowledge for an occupation or career
  • an industry placement with an employer
  • a minimum standard in maths and English if students have not already achieved them

Students who pass all the elements of their T Level will get a nationally recognised certificate showing an overall grade of pass, merit or distinction. It will also set out the details of what students have achieved on the course.

The T Level certificate will include

  • an overall pass grade for the T Level, shown as pass, merit or distinction
  • a separate grade for the occupational specialism, shown as pass, merit or distinction
  • a separate grade for the core component, using A* to E
  • grades for maths and English qualifications
  • details of the industry placement

T Levels will become available in Worcestershire from September 2021 and the sectors available will be introduced over a period of 3 years.

Autumn 2021

T Level courses start in these subject areas:

  • building services engineering
  • digital business services
  • digital support and services
  • health
  • healthcare science
  • onsite construction
  • science

Autumn 2022

T Level courses start in these subject areas:

  • legal
  • finance
  • accounting
  • maintenance, installation and repair
  • manufacturing and process
  • design, development and control
  • human resources
  • management and administration

Autumn 2023

T Level courses start in these subject areas:

  • animal care and management
  • agriculture, land management and production
  • craft and design
  • cultural heritage and visitor attractions
  • media, broadcast and production
  • hair, beauty and aesthetics
  • catering

T Level industry placements – what employers say

For more information about T Levels, visit GOV.UK Introduction of T-Levels