Information and Support for Parents in Worcestershire

Useful Information for Parents

Did you know?

GCSEs in England have been reformed and are now graded 1-9. The content of GCSEs has also been made more challenging. English literature, English language and maths were the first GCSEs to change to the new grading system with 20 more due to follow in 2018 and the remaining subjects in 2019.

Find out all of the information about the new GCSE grading scale, including:

  • How the new GCSE grading scale works
  • Standard and strong pass marks and what this means for students, schools, parents and employers
  • How qualifications compare and what they can lead to

Download the Qualifications table

New GCSEs Fact Sheet (link opens in a new window)

T Levels: what are they?

T Levels are new courses coming in September 2020 (This means pupils who entered year 10 in September 2018 will be the first to be able to study them) which will follow GCSEs and will be equivalent to 3 A Levels. These 2-year courses have been developed in collaboration with employers and businesses so that the content meets the needs of industry and prepares students for work. T levels are Post 16 options.

T Levels will offer students a mixture of classroom learning and ‘on-the-job’ experience. T-level students will be required to complete a work placement of 45-60 days in length, covering a minimum of 315 hours.

T Levels will provide the knowledge and experience needed to open the door into skilled employment, further study or a higher apprenticeship.

For more information on how they will work:

Download: T Levels - what are they?